Show cause notice to 17 bureaucrats involved in the Adarsh scam

Mumbai High Court hears NAPM's petition on Adarsh: Government of Maharashtra and CBI must take a final call on Adarsh investigation by 20th December
The Government of Maharashtra has sent Notices to 17 Bureaucrats (IAS, IPS and IFS) under the All-India Services Conduct Rules, seeking information on their sources of income and funding and property ownership, seeking a reply within eight days. Read more

Among the 17 officials are Mumbai Collector Idraz Angmo Kundan and IFS officer R.K. Das, who have flats in their name. IAS officer Uttam Khobragade's daughter Devyani Khobragade, State Information Commissioner Raman and Tiwari's son Onkar Tiwari and the former Municipal Commissioner, Mumbai Jairaj Pathak's son Kanishka too have houses in Adarsh. Under the rules, government officials have to declare information pertaining to their sources of income and funding. The government can seek this information at any point in time.

Meanwhile, hearing the petition filed by NAPM on the investigation matter related to the Adarsh Scam, the Hon’ble Mumbai High Court has ordered that the CBI & Government of Maharashtra should decide about the modus operandi of the investigation in all aspects of the Adarsh Scam by 20th December. The next date of the hearing is 20th December and NAPM is being represented in the Court
by former CBI official and IPS turned lawyer YP Singh & Adv Ashish Mehta.

As the battle goes ahead in the Court, challenge by people’s movements and thousands of ordinary citizens across the state, questioning the corrupt politician-builder-bureaucrat nexus also continues. Around 5000 people from slums of Mumbai & Project affected of Sardar Sarovar, Ghosikhurd Dam and many other projects marched on the streets of Nagpur on December 1st and a delegation met the Chief Minister demanding a time bound inquiry and action against all those involved in Adarsh and other such land scams that are leading to evictions of urban poor and displacement and impoverishment of thousands.

Simpreet Singh Sumit Wajale     Medha Patkar    Santosh Daonkar