NANDIGRAM attacked by CPI (M)

NANDIGRAM attacked by CPI (M)

KOLKATA, 18 November 2007

At the dharna manch set up at Esplanade in Dharmtalla opposite the Metro Cinema there are a number of posters put up with a common theme – ‘Nandigram in W.B. (India) Attacked by CPI(M) – A Ruling Communist Party on India’.

At the bottom there are different slogans carried along with heart rending pictures.

Some of these are – ‘Bullets to ensure your ballots, Mr. Chief Minister?’, ‘How many miles a man should flee?’, ‘Where is the W.B. State Women’s Commission?’, ‘You want me to join other beggars in Kolkata, Mr. CM?’, ‘It’s West Bengal not Gujarat’, ‘They have been paid back in their own coin’ by CM, W.B

The main banner at the manch says ‘Stand in Support of Nandigram.

Prof. Amlan Dutta, former Vice Chancellor of Shanti Niketan began his 48 hours fast yesterday along with 16 other people including Sandip Das, veteran Gandhian, Bani Sarawati, social activist and Anirban Dhartriputra, a poet. On the first day of the fast, 18th November, the responsibility for running the manch was taken by Shuvosatyarthee Samaj.

Magsaysay Awardee Mahashewta Devi visited the dharna manch yesterday. The visitors also included Manoj Bhattacharya, Member of Parliament (MP) belonging to a Left Front partner, the RSP, and a former MP from Meghalaya, BB Dutta.

Two trucks of relief along with 11 volunteers went to Nandigram yesterday and this morning a team of doctors also went.

Meanwhile, the violence continues in Nandigram. Minoti Das of Adhikaripada, Gokulnagar and 3 other unknown women were raped last night. This morning Mukti Das, a pregnant woman, also belonging to Adhikaripada, Gokulnagar, was raped by the CPM hoodlums. She was admitted to the hospital in Tamluk in a critical state. The CPM deserves all the condemnation for targeting woman for sexual assault in order to subjugate people and create an atmosphere of terror.

Sukhendu Bhattacharya, Pranab Banerjee, Meher Engineer, Anuradha Talwar, Debjit Dutta, Swapan Ganguly, Shaktiman Ghosh, Prasun Bhowmick, Samar Das, Sandeep Pandey

National Alliance of People’s Movements (NAPM)

West Bengal