[Call to register] Webinar for media: Can we avert the looming TB-diabetes co-epidemic?

[Webinar recording] We welcome you to register for an exclusive media webinar on why it is so critically important for public health and social justice to avert the looming tuberculosis (TB) and diabetes co-epidemic. Get connected with noted experts from lead agencies such as the Central TB Division of Ministry of Health and Family Welfare in India and International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease (The Union) who will present and respond to questions live!

Date: Tuesday, 27th October 2015

Time: 1:00pm Geneva/ Durban Time, 7:00am New York/ Boston Time, 4:30pm Indian Standard Time, 6pm Thailand/ Indonesia time
(check www.timeanddate.com for your local time)
Duration: 60 minutes

To register, click here 

Why join?

Diabetes weakens the immune system, and triples a person's risk of getting sick with TB. Today, 387 million people are affected by diabetes, with 77 per cent of cases in low- and middle-income countries where TB is prevalent. Diabetes is projected to affect 592 million people by 2035—and thereby raises the the spectre of a devastating impact on the global TB situation.

Recent studies have shown between 16 and 46 per cent of people living with TB also have diabetes, and many are unaware of it. With an estimated nine million cases of TB each year, the convergence of the two diseases threatens to become a major public health crisis.

This webinar will provide you an opportunity to have a direct interface with lead experts, listen to their expert comments and brief presentations, and ask questions from them, live!

About the Experts:
  • Moderator: Ashok Ramsarup, noted award-winning commentator and senior radio programme producer, South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC)
  • Co-moderator: Shobha Shukla, Managing Editor, CNS (Citizen News Service)

To register, click here

CNS Webinars Team
Email: webinar@citizen-news.org

No comments:

Post a Comment