[Call to register] Webinar for media: Tobacco industry interference in WHO FCTC

[Watch webinar recording] [Listen to audio podcast] We welcome you to register for an exclusive media webinar on the critically important issue of: tobacco industry interference in the global tobacco treaty (formally called WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control or FCTC). 

[Watch webinar recording] [Listen to podcast]

Seventh Session of the Conference of the Parties to the WHO FCTC will be taking place in Greater Noida, India during 7-12 November 2016. 

Tobacco industry interference in health policy making is not new. Despite adoption of WHO FCTC Article 5.3 Guidelines by our governments in November 2008, the first Guiding Principles of which is: "There is a fundamental and irreconcilable conflict between the tobacco industry's interests and public health policy interests", tobacco industry continues to find deceptive and insidious ways to water down or delay or jeopardize health policy making. 

Panel of experts on this webinar will share examples of how tobacco industry has interfered with WHO FCTC in the past years and what can we do to firewall health policy from their interference.

Experts from the Network for Accountability of Tobacco Transnationals (NATT), Corporate Accountability International, among others, will present and respond to questions live!
  • Date: Tuesday, 4th October 2016
  • Time: 4:00pm Geneva Time, 3pm London Time, 4pm Durban Time, 10:00am New York/ Boston Time, 7:30pm Indian Standard Time, 9pm Thailand time (check www.timeanddate.com for your local time)
  • Duration: 60 minutes

To register, click here 

About the Experts:
  • Moderator: Ashok Ramsarup, noted award-winning commentator and former senior programme producer, South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC)
  • Co-moderator: Shobha Shukla, Managing Editor, CNS (Citizen News Service)
To register, click here

CNS Webinars Team
Email: webinar@citizen-news.org

[Watch webinar recording] [Listen to podcast]

No comments:

Post a Comment