[Call to register] Webinar: Are TB, malaria and Anti-Microbial Resistance declining fast enough to meet SDGs by 2030?

[Watch webinar recording] [Download/Listen to audio podcast] We welcome you to register for an exclusive media webinar on progress made (or lack of) towards ending TB, malaria and Anti-Microbial Resistance (AMR) by 2030 (or earlier). Governments have adopted the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), one of which is to end TB and malaria by 2030 (SDG 3.3).

[Watch webinar recording

[Download/Listen to audio podcast

After almost a year of committing to SDGs, governments met at the High Level Political Forum (HLPF 2016) in July 2016 to review their progress towards achieving these SDGs. Next SDG review will happen in July 2017 (HLPF 2017). 

Malaria review is also on the official provisional agenda of 71st Session of the United Nations General Assembly (71st UNGA) in September 2016. It is important to realize that this will be only the fourth time in the history of the UN that a health topic will be discussed at an UNGA (HIV, noncommunicable diseases, and Ebola were discussed in the past UNGAs). This year, malaria and AMR both are on the agenda of world leaders.
Although anti-microbial resistance (AMR) is not even mentioned once in SDGs, there is no way SDGs can be met unless we eliminate AMR. AMR is posing serious threat to health security globally and risking losing gains made in fighting specific diseases such as, TB, malaria, HIV, STIs, among others. AMR threatens the effective prevention and treatment of an ever-increasing range of infections caused by bacteria, parasites, viruses and fungi. World Health Assembly 2015 had adopted a Global Action Plan on Anti-Microbial Resistance and progress on it must be spurred up.

It is important to monitor if rates of TB, malaria and AMR are declining (and declining fast enough) so as to meet the SDGs by 2030 (or earlier). There are other commitments too in line with these SDGs. For instance, WHO End TB Strategy, Catalytic Framework to end AIDS, TB and Eliminate Malaria in Africa by 2030, Asia Pacific Malaria Elimination Roadmap, Global Plan to End TB (2016-2020), WHO Global Action Plan on Anti-Microbial Resistanceamong others.

Experts from the Stop TB Partnership, Asia Pacific Leaders' Malaria Alliance (APLMA) and International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease (The Union) will present and respond to questions live!
  • Date: Tuesday, 30th August 2016
  • Time: 1:00pm Geneva Time, 12 noon London Time, 1pm Durban Time, 7:00am New York/ Boston Time, 4:30pm Indian Standard Time, 6pm Thailand time (check www.timeanddate.com for your local time)
  • Duration: 60 minutes

To register, click here 

About the Experts:
  • Moderator: Ashok Ramsarup, noted award-winning commentator and former senior programme producer, South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC)
  • Co-moderator: Shobha Shukla, Managing Editor, CNS (Citizen News Service)

[Watch webinar recording] [Download/Listen to audio podcast

To register, click here

CNS Webinars Team
Email: webinar@citizen-news.org

No comments:

Post a Comment