CNS Health Fellowship Programme

Citizen News Service - CNS awards annual Health Fellowships to health and science journalists/ writers from low- and middle- income countries to achieve the following objectives: 
- Increase evidence-based health reporting from the frontlines
- Document voices of affected communities dealing with specific health issues  
- Build upon the understanding and sensitivity of CNS Health Fellows on a range of health issues
- Increase community-centric health news coverage in local newspapers and other media channels
- Raise awareness and build public consciousness on health issues through sustained news coverage
The CNS Health Fellows will:
 - Receive exclusive and latest media advisories or issue briefs on specific health issues regularly so that they can conduct in-country interviews and speak their world bringing local realities to the fore
- Participate in video-conferencing/ webinars/ online dialogue on specific issues
- Connect with key experts in their own country or region on relevant issues for interviews or learning sessions, including those from affected communities
- Receive high quality professional editing of their articles by CNS Editors
- Benefit from high quality translation of their articles if required
- Get published on CNS website
- Get more visibility through dissemination of their articles through CNS syndicate, and other social media platforms
- Get preference when CNS is putting together an on-site team for conference reporting at various regional or global health conferences, meetings or other events
- Be awarded a certificate recognizing their contribution and participation in the annual CNS Health Fellowship programme
                               - and a lot more! -

 CNS Health Fellows 2016
         Urvashi Prasad, India
         Mokamatam Madhu Babu, India
         Ephraim Nyondo, Malawi
         Winnie Botha, Malawi
         Victor Okong Moturi, Kenya
         Pritha Roy Choudhury, India
         Joyce Kimani, Kenya
         Luis Enrique Jaime Portal, El Salvador
         Roger Paul Kamugasha, Uganda
         Tikondane Vega, Malawi
         Tuyeimo Haidula, Namibia
         Josephine Chinele, Malawi 
         Mercy Chaluma, Malawi
         Aarti Dhar, India 
         Chika Onyesi, Nigeria
         Francis Obinna Okoye, Nigeria
         Archana Jyoti, India 

CNS Health Fellows 2015
         Catherine Mwauyakufa, Zimbabwe (Awarded)
         Judd-Leonard Okafor, Nigeria
         Pretty Chavango, Zimbabwe (Awarded)
         Zehru Nissa, India
         Richa Sharma, India (Awarded)
         Humphery Chikezie, Nigeria
         Nnenna Jane Ibeh, Nigeria
         O. Beryl,
         Lwin Lwin Thant, Myanmar (Awarded) 

CNS Health Fellows 2014
         Eranga Isaac, Nigeria (Awarded)
         Henry Kahara, Kenya
         Sidi Sarro, Kenya
         Chhatra Karki, Nepal (Awarded)
         Jyotsana Singh, India
         Bamidele Timothy, Nigeria
         Owen Nyaka, Malawi (Awarded)

CNS Health Fellows 2013
         Alice M Tembe, Swaziland (Awarded)
         Carolyn Kavita Tauro, India (Awarded)
         Diana Esther Wangari, Kenya (Awarded)
         Sam Banda Jnr, Malawi (Awarded)
         Okeoghene Oghenekaro, Nigeria (Awarded)
         Bernard Appiah, Ghana 
         Dismus Buregyeya, Uganda
         Fazlur rehman, India
         Garikai Chaunza, Zimbabwe
         Gaurav Saigal, India
         Gugulethu Nyazema, Zimbabwe
         Henry Kibira, Kenya
         Yamon Phu Thit, Myanmar
          Monicah Mwangi, Kenya
          Moses Wasamu, Kenya
          Ni Ni Myint, Myanmar
          Olufunke Abike Osindele, Nigeria
          Paidamoyo Chipunza, Zimbabwe
          Raju Kumar, India
          Soe Kalayar, Myanmar

CNS Health Fellows 2012 on lung health
Kakaire Ayub Kirunda, Uganda (Awarded)
Chief K Masimba Biriwasha, Zimbabwe (Awarded)
Jittima Jantanamalaka, Thailand, (Awarded)
Duangkamol Donchaum, Thailand, (Awarded)
Rahul Kumar Dwivedi, India, (Awarded)
CNS Health Fellows 2011 on childhood pneumonia
Somya Arora, (Awarded)
Shikha Srivastava, (Awarded)
Neeraj Mainali, (Awarded)
Jitendra Dwivedi, (Awarded)
Nadeem Salmani, (Awarded)

For further information on CNS Health Fellowships, please email:

No comments:

Post a Comment